For release on February 19, 2015   CONTACT:
Sean Webby
Public Communications Officer
(408) 792-2997   D.A. ROSEN GIVES ANNUAL AWARDS   A prosecutor’s tenacity against a giant food company, which had stored perishable food in unrefrigerated sheds, led to one of the largest consumer settlements in Office history. A paralegal’s effort led to the rescue of a child abducted by his father. A mother whose determination made sure a sexual predator will never hurt anyone again.   These are some of the 2014 winners of the Santa Clara County District Attorney’s Annual Awards. The awards recognize outstanding work by the Office’s prosecutors, investigators, criminalists, paralegals, and support staff. Each year, the Office also recognizes a courageous crime victim.   “We are shining a light of recognition and gratitude on a handful of public servants whose exemplary work made this county safer,” District Attorney Jeff Rosen said. “However, the District Attorney’s Office is not a collective of 500 individuals. Justice is a team endeavor. Congratulations to everyone whose everyday excellence serves Santa Clara County so well.”     D.A. Rosen also gave a “State of the Office” speech singling out other notable achievements of the past year, including the crime lab’s DNA work which helped solve a 2002 rape; and how the newly created South County Family Justice Center team helped a domestic violence victim find safety and justice.   Here is a complete list of the 2014 Annual Award winners:   o The Courage Award: Susan Mox
o Napoleon J. Menard Award for Felony Trial Advocacy:  Deputy District Attorney David Boyd
o Robert L. Webb Award for Misdemeanor Trial Advocacy: Deputy District Attorney Teresa Souto
o Clayton L. Haupert Excellence Award for a Non-Trial Attorney: Deputy District Attorney Francisca Allen
o Lowell W. Bradford Achievement of Excellence Award for Crime Lab Division: Criminalist Jean Arase
o Robert Drexel Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Investigations Unit: Investigator Keith Miller
o Paralegal Excellence Award: Ivonne Zelaya
o Legal Support Award of Excellence: Legal Clerk Victoria Enos   # # #

©2023 County of Santa Clara. All rights reserved.